CONCACAF Announces Interim Leadership Structure


Miami (Monday, December 7, 2015) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that the Confederation’s Executive Committee (EXCO) voted unanimously to not appoint a successor President of CONCACAF and to operate the Confederation through the members of the EXCO as a whole until a new President is democratically elected by its Member Associations. The vote will take place at the XXXI CONCACAF Ordinary Congress on May 12, 2016, in Mexico City.

The CONCACAF EXCO concluded that, in light of current events, it is critical that the Confederation’s next President be determined by a public election and the scrutiny that comes with it. Current CONCACAF EXCO members, Justino Compean, Horace Burrell, Sunil Gulati, Pedro Chaluja, Luis Hernandez, Victor Montagliani, and Sonia Bien-Aime, will oversee the Confederation’s operations and serve in an advisory capacity to CONCACAF’s Acting General Secretary, Ted Howard, and Director-level staff.

“CONCACAF must maintain stability in the Confederation’s day-to-day operations,” said CONCACAF Executive Committee Member Justino Compean. “This interim leadership structure demonstrates the EXCO’s unity and allows us to serve our Member Associations with a high level of efficiency, transparency, and accountability.”

CONCACAF Executive Committee Member Captain Horace Burrell added, “It is critical for the Confederation’s future that the next President be elected by the full Congress, rather than statutorily appointed. Under this leadership structure, CONCACAF can ensure there is sufficient time to publicly vet candidates while the Confederation focuses on continued implementation of strong reforms.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *